Break it Down

Imma hafta break it down.

Everyone knows that a good way to reach a bigger, more long-term goal is to break it down in to smaller, short-term goals.  This is a favorite tactic of mine because it helps keep me focused, helps me see results sooner, and keeps be from getting burned out when I feel like my ultimate victory will never arrive.  Besides, I’m ALWAYS a fan of breaking it down.

You know I’ve been a little unmotivated this month.  I am still a little concerned since this is only the first step-up in my workouts.  I’ll admit that I loved Ben’s video reminding me that all I have to do is just do it.   But I’ll tell it to you straight here people, I’ll break it down if you will, the video just ain’t enough.

I’ve decided that before I let my malaise (more like ma-laziness!) come between me and my first official 1/2 marathon in February, I’d better break this thing down.  Since the big goal – I have to keep reminding myself – is to register for, train for, show up for, and run an official half-marathon, the partway goal is now The Halfway Halfway.  That is, when I’m halfway to my goal due date in February I’ll run halfway to a half marathon.  This means that in mid-November I’ll run a little over 6 miles, which I’m rounding out to a nice even 10K.

Unfortunately, after scouring the internet I’ve found NO 10K going on in Austin in November.  I’ll have to do this one on my own.  Luckily, I scored a map from the Capital 10K race route, so that’s what I’m planning on doing.  Also, since I’m already supposed to be up to 6 miles on my long weekend runs, I figured I’d step up the Halfway Halfway goal by trying to do the whole thing at a 9-minute per mile pace.

One last detail: What will be the Halfway Halfway Attained-Goal Prize . . . ?

2 comments

Blobservations of your own?

