Holding a Candle and Running: Both Hard to Do in the Cold November Rain

Oh, sue me.  I couldn’t resist. 

 

 

 

The Guns N Roses, that is.  Not the running.  A Blob can always resist the running.  Especially in the rain, which I’ve said before is really not my cup of tea.  (Come to think of it — even TEA isn’t really my cup of tea.  I’m officially revising this turn of phrase for personal use in the future.)

So, like I was saying, you already know that running in the rain isn’t exactly my mug of beer.  But now that fall is upon us, (yes, even here in Central Texas, temperatures have finally dipped bone-chillingly below 60 degrees), I can’t rest on my occasional ignoring of a planned run since the rain is starting to be not-so-occasional and much more regular. 

So, I did it.  More than once this month I’ve already had to run in the rain.  Commuting home from work on those starless nights, (The worst part of falling back, right?  Leaving the office in what appears to be – and certainly feels like – the dead of night.), watching the clouds thicken overhead and threaten to slicken neighborhood streets, fille loosely tied sneakers, and short-circuit the all-important iPod with rain, rain, rain.  Pulling into my parking spot at home as the first few sprinkles create a muddy paste on my once frightfully dusty Honda, I’m thinking as fast as I’ve ever thought, arguing as hard as I’ve ever argued.  I’m reaching for any possible arrow in the quiver for the one clean kill shot needed to terminate my half-baked inclination to follow through with my intended 5 miles.

  1. Seriously, I can NOT get sick.”
  2. The ‘wet look’ is so out.
  3. If these running tights get wet they may actually get TIGHTER, and nobody deserves to see that.
  4. Getting this hair we tonight will certainly buy me 35 minutes under the blow dryer tomorrow morning.
  5. What if I slip and fall?  I don’t have one of those Road IDs or a call button or anything.  I just never saw myself dying of a rain-soaked ankle sprain with added road rash complications.
Jacked from: http://www.Zazzle.com

But, like a ray of light came shining my trusty old Big Picture Anxiety, steeled in its responses and at the ready for any short-term cop-out I managed to muster.

  1. “Running these five miles will do far more to keep you healthy than the 45 minutes of exposure to the elements will do to make you sick.
  2. Even the ‘wet look,’ I’m sorry to say, is an improvement over the ten-hour-day-desk-deweller look you’re sporting.  I think you dropped a bobby pin, and it looks like you sat on one of your 3:00PM peanut butter saltines.
  3. For the last time – NO ONE IS LOOKING AT YOUR TIGHTS.”
  4. The hair has been a lost cause since mid-September.  Get it wet, don’t get it wet, even Ken Paves is at a loss for what to do there.
  5. “A slip and fall is beyond unlikely.  Even if it did happen, at the pace you’ve been running you could literally slither back home in roughly the same amount of time.  People would probably just think you were trying to shed those God-awful running tights.

And most convincingly: “If you cop-out due to cold rain, you could miss half of the November runs or more.  You won’t make the Halfway Halfway 10K goal, you won’t earn yourself your awesome Lululemon prize, you won’t be ready for the December step-up, every Holiday treat will be tattooed on your butt and thighs, and you won’t stay on track for the Half Marathon in February!

Credit: Cathy Guisewite; Jacked From: http://www.voy.com

So I laced up and went.  And I have to admit to those of you who commented saying rain-running isn’t that bad that you were totally right.  It’s not.  Believe it or not, both times the drizzles stopped before I hit the 2-mile mark (probably because The Universe helps those who help themselves.)  And the heat of mile 4 I actually felt thankful for the cool damp air.  Turns out the hardest part about running in the cold November rain is just convincing myself to do it.  I guess it just further proves:

“If you want to do it, all you have to do it do it.”
http://bendoeslife.tumblr.com/

Enhanced by Zemanta
Blobservations of your own?

