The Fifth Day of Fitmas: Carol of the Blobs

Hark! how the blobs —
We jogging blobs —
All seem to go,
So very slow.

But now there’s this
My Christmas wish
1K is mine
Seeming to shine
Wheeze, cough, snort, hack
I’d laze, I’d slack.
Now I’m a star
I have gone far —
One thousand reps
Since my first steps.
Ran everywhere
Praying for air.

Words of good cheer
From ev’rywhere
Filling the air

Oh how they pound,
Feet on the ground,
O’er hill and dale,
Pain like a nail,
Down in my lung,
Calf muscles wrung.
Now I am proud
Shouting it loud.

I have run a thousand miles!
I have run a thousand miles!

On, on I jog
Quick like a log.
Knowing I will
Scale ev’ry hill.

Huff, puff, huff, puff.

About Carol of the Blobs:
This song commemorates a momentous occasion in the life of a blob.  I have run 1,000 miles in my running career!  I started running during the summer of 2008 while working an internship with the U.S. Air Force (they make you).  Wanting, at the time, to get serious about a military career, I realized after no time at all that a running career would have to come first.  I started running a mile at a time.  I spent all summer agonizing about a team 5K we were supposed to run all together. (Public running – for shame!

Air Force Run
Jacked from: 4-30.blogspot.com

I spent the next year getting to a point where I could run 3 miles at a stretch.  At that point I was only running for the sake of running alone.  That was more than enough, until I realized there was so much to it!  I spent the next summer studying for the bar exam during which time I became intimately acquainted with the stress-relieving powers of looong runs.

 

13.1 Shirt
Credit: cafepress.com

And that, naturally, has been the real hook.  Since about that time, advancements in my running career have been chronicled here on From Blob to Blog.  And today, on the Fifth Day of Christmas, I made an advancement.  A very big advancement.  Since that first pitiful one mile jog in the summer of 2008, I have gone one. thousand. miles!

About Carol of the Bells:
Composed by Mykola Dmytrovych Leontovych (1877-1921) in 1916. Originally titled Shchedryk, this Ukranian folk song is about a sparrow and the bountiful year that awaits a family. It was first performed in the Ukraine on the night of January 13, 1916, on the Julian calendar this is considered New Year’s Eve. In the United States the song was first performed on October 5, 1921 at Carnegie Hall.

Carol of the Bells, also known as the Ukrainian Carol, was adapted from Shchedryk by Mykola Leontovych (1877-1921), which was first performed in December 1916 by students at Kiev University. The original Ukrainian song is based on an old Slavic legend that every bell in the world rang in honour of Jesus on the night of his birth.

 

Source: Free Christmas Lyrics

Enhanced by Zemanta
Blobservations of your own?

