Five Blisters From Five Fingers

Well, the warning was not a joke.

According to Vibram, I should “[r]un no more than 10% of your typical running distance for the first 2–3 weeks.”  But in keeping with my brilliant plan to somehow merge Vacation Itinerary with DIY Half Marathon Training, I went for a 4-mile walk-run in my new Vibram 5 Fingers.  I figure that since I’m supposed to be running 6 miles on weekdays, and since, given that it takes me a half-day to get those 6 miles done, there was simply no room for it in the Vacation Itinerary, a shorter 5 Finger work out would be just the ticket.

Blisters
Credit: moi

And a walk no less.  A walk, not even a run.  Well, full disclosure here, I was forced to run about 1/2 mile going out and 1/2 mile coming back due to a collapsing window of time caused by excess photography and hastening sunset happy hour.  But still, 3 miles walked and 1 mile (max!) ran.  I never thought it would come to this – FIVE BLISTERS: the entire bottom surface of each big toe, inside both arches, and the back of the right heel.  At least I didn’t experience any of the calf or foot pain Vibram also mentioned. 

View from the Turnaround
Credit: Moi

And at least there was the view.

Blobservations of your own?

