If You Can’t Have the Gear You Love, Love the Gear You Have

I can’t explain it.

    

Shopaholic

 

Jacked From: http://www.fullissue.com “How to Stop a Shopaholic”

I don’t know if it’s because I’m an American consumer, or because I’m a woman shopaholic, or because I’m a blobby rationalizer.  All I know is that lately I’ve fallen into a pattern where all I want to do is acquire new gear.  I see it, I daydream about it, and I convince myself that I will perform better with it.  This week, I’ve been twitterpated over a brand new piece of gear.  I know I want it, I’m not sure I need it, and I know I can’t afford it.  It’s the Garmin 310XT.

 

Garmin Forefunner 310XT
Jacked From: http://gbr.garmin.com

 

It’s like a watch that says “I’ll be back!” and “Yipi-ki-yay, Mister Falcon!” in the same breath.  It’s big, it’s bad, it’s in-your-face.  But, is it “me?”  It tracks your workouts with GPS, which gives you more accurate distance and pace statistics.  It will measure triathlon distances automatically altering between meters-per-minute (swimming), minutes-per-mile (running), and miles-per-hour (cycling).  You can independently time your transitions between each leg of a triathlon, and – of course – it’s waterproof.  On top of all that, it wirelessly syncs and compiles every conceivable data point from heart-rate to elevation.  The kicker — it’s about $400.00.

Natalie Dee Comic
Credit: http://www.nataliedee.com

The obvious criticism is, well, I’ve never actually run a single triathlon. (But wouldn’t this be great to train?)  Won’t I be the essence of poseur showing up for the first go-round with top-of-the line equipment?  What if I hate the First Tri in May and never run another?  (But the 310XT is still great for running and cycling – proven loves.)  And if I just wind up using the 310XT for running and cycling, won’t my Nike+ and Cat Eye Odometer suit me just fine?  Probably.

Running Nike+
Credit: http://www.everystockphoto.com

Although . . . I am aware that some people vehemently oppose the use of Nike products, for obvious reasons.  Also, it has become painfully noticeable to me that my Nike+ isn’t precisely accurate as it occasionally throws me a free half mile or two on my long runs.  However, though my heart rate still quickens when I consider the Garmin 310XT (a fact it could measure, sync wirelessly, AND chart with stunning accuracy and clarity), I just can’t justify dropping half my rent, or two car payments, or roughly one hundred Starbucks Trentas on such an advanced piece of equipment for such a novice “athlete.”  (Air quotes, like training wheels, will come off in due time with demonstrated skill and ability.)  Maybe if I meet every fitness goal in the 2011 Bloblessness Project, this will be my Christmastime reward.

Until then, I’ve gotta love the gear I’ve got.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Blobservations of your own?

