The Unthinkable Brink

Gasp.

I’m on the brink of the unthinkable: Not having enough GOOD music to make it through the Austin Half Marathon this Sunday.  As a devotee of several podcasts (Slate Culture Gabfest, Slate Political Gabfest, Phedipidations, Real Time with Bill Maher) I admit that I am woefully out of date when it comes to what the kids are running to these days.  Oddly, though, I don’t like to listen to podcasts on race day.  Too many cowbells piercing the heady commentary of Bill Maher odiously slaying some senator with a pot joke.  I miss a syllable here and a clause there, and before I know it it’s only mile 2 and I have no idea what anyone is talking about.

Last year at the Austin Livestrong Half Marathon 2011 I tried to combine my devotion to podcasts with my need for tunes and downloaded several free workout mixes from PodRunner.  Those were OK, better than noisemaker-peppered art house movie reviews from the Gabfesters at Slate, but still by about mile 10 I was thinking: “The instant one more gnnn-tsss hits my eardrum I’m going to my mind is going to straight atomize like a jello-shot slapped from meaty paw of a Jersey Shore star in an apres-bar fight on the roof deck.

I need more power songs. 

I love the power songs I have now, but after culling through my fast 2MB iTunes library, I only have about 1/2 the music I’ll need to get me through my 8-hour shift on the half-marathon course this Sunday.  As I’m sure you’ve guessed, this is where I need you most.  I need twenty awesome running songs STAT  so that I’ll have time to search, buy, download to the library and upload to the iPod with my Apple IIe-era laptop (you didn’t even know they HAD laptops back then did you?  Back when floppies were floppy.  Those were the days.)  Basically, given these technological constraints, I needed your recommendations last Thursday, but – as loyal readers know – I’ll have no problem pulling all-nighters up until the moment the gun goes off Sunday morning making this procrastinated dream a reality (besides, at this point with no training, it’s not like lack of sleep could possibly affect my race day performance.).

I’ll start it out:

(1) Ray Charles by Chiddy Bang (Have you heard this?  Move over LMFAO, this guy’s got the World Record for longest free style – in the 9-hour range – AND my new favorite jam for getting dressed, applying makeup, driving in traffic, applying makeup while driving in traffic, drinking pinot, dancing  inappropriately in my hallway, and – consequently – running half marathons).

Your turn:

Jacked from: bluefaq.com via Pinterest
4 comments

  1. I’m all about mash-ups while running. Girl Talk’s All Day album is amazing (Oh No! makes me run like a maniac) and anything White Panda does is great (Hell Neva Eva usually gets me through the end of my workout – lyrics are “you can never ever get on my level.”)

  2. Magnetic Man’s “I Need Air” gets me pumped. Or, speaking of mashups, DJ Topcat does a great mix of Peter Bjorn and John’s “Young Folks” and Amy Winehouse’s “Rehab.” Regardless, good luck Sunday!

Blobservations of your own?

