More is Less

I’m striving for more, doing more, wanting more, but getting less. I’m finishing fewer goals and getting less out of working toward them.  What gives?

After bombing out on the Tour of Sufferlandria this past week, I think it’s time to reassess where I’m focusing my time and energy.  I have three pending fitness goals that, after last week, seem to be exclusive of each other.  Now to decide what’s important and what’s not.

The whole idea of the Bloblessness Project was to make improvement manageable.  Somewhere along the way I lost sight of that and backslid into an uncomfortable habit of goal-setting ADD.  With eyes far too big for my calendar, I’ve paved my path to hell with well-intentioned why-nots.  I’m suffocating now under the weight of three fitness goals, when I was supposed to be taking these one at a time.  I think it’s time to prune a bit, but I’ve been stymied on how to do that. 

The pending goals are (1) The 40 Day Yoga Challenge; (2) Finishing the Tour of Sufferlandria; and (3) Getting a PR at the Austin Half Marathon.  They are all things I enjoy and actually want to do, and they all provide pretty solid benefits.  Since they are all in different areas of fitness, I’m having trouble comparing the oranges and apples.  I guess there’s no better place to start than the trusty old pro-con list.

THE 40 DAY YOGA CHALLENGE

PROS:

I did it last year and liked it; I should do it again.
I feel better when I do more yoga.
I like seeing improvements by practicing more regularly.
I’ve seen reduced running and cycling soreness.
The practices can be done anytime anywhere.

CONS:

I did it last year so I don’t need to do it again.
Doing some yoga is as beneficial as doing this particular yoga.
I’m already not committed to the meditation and diet part of this challenge.
I have less time to run and cycle, which need more of my attention.
There are no bragging rights for doing yoga.

THE TOUR OF SUFFERLANDRIA

PROS:

I’ve never done it before and want to.
It won’t take much more commitment to get this done.
Cycling is an area where a little investment could provide a big improvement.
Minions never quit.

CONS:

The workouts are very draining and don’t pair well with running.
The workouts are inconvenient since I can’t do them at home on my own time.
Cycling can’t double as couple time since my Favorite Non-Blob isn’t involved in this challenge.

AUSTIN HALF MARATHON PR

PROS:

I did it last year and liked it; I should do it again.
Running more is essential, even if not for the PR, to avoid suffering during the race.
With a little more focus, time, and energy devoted, I could probably get a PR.
Running can double as couple time since my Favorite Non-Blob is involved in this challenge.
PRs exist for bragging rights.

CONS:

Not every run needs to be a PR
After the 3M, it’s not likely I’ll be able to PR at this race.
It’s already too late to achieve a PR since the race is in two weeks
It’s more difficult to get these workouts in since the weather is bad and running on a treadmill crushes my soul.

Since not all factors are created equally, I made clear where my feelings are strongest on in each category.  Although the numbers of pros and cons here don’t appear decisive, the weighted pros and cons make this pretty clear.  I’ve got to get the Tour of Sufferlandria done for one reason only: Minions never quit.  And I need to run more anyway to avoid praying for death during the race I’ve already paid to do, so I might as well do my best to get a PR.  Also: bragging rights. 

Jacked From: Dunstan via Pinterest
Jacked From: Dunstan via Pinterest

When it comes to the yoga, I’m not ready to drop the goal entirely, but frankly, once daily practices get over 45 minutes, I don’t think the juice is worth the squeeze.  The most important thing to me is getting some yoga in every day.  I see clear benefits on yoga days as opposed to noga days.  But I really don’t see much more benefit on 60 minute yoga days as opposed to 30 minute yoga days.  The net effect on me is actually ADDED stress caused by furiously scheduling and re-scheduling meetings, dinners, and other workouts to accommodate the ever-longer yoga practices that aren’t getting better, they’re just getting longer.

Via Pinterest
Via Pinterest

Baptiste himself says that “the way out of your yoga rut is through,” which is less cute than Winston Churchill’s famous imperative: “If you’re going through hell, keep going.”  While I wouldn’t quite call this three-challenge convergence “hell,” and while I do intend to keep muddling through, it seems the best solution here (as everywhere, really) was to stop, collaborate, and listen.  Stopping the mindless grind toward completion, getting my thoughts together about these three challenges, and listening to what’s important here the solution is suddenly clear.

I’ll run a little more.

I’ll yoga a little less.

And I’ll  finish that damn bike tour if it kills me.

Blobservations of your own?

