The Greatest excuse In The World

The Greatest   excuse   In The World

… is that we have other priorities.

By now we know that busyness is overrated and multitasking is a myth. If you are mindfully setting goals and intentions (and who isn’t this time of year?), then you are already ahead. But the presence of January differs from the presents of December because today it is more than just the though that counts.

Do or do not. There is no try.

blob-yoda

When is comes time to actually take a step, why don’t you? I don’t because in that moment – lacing up the sneakers, usually – I powerfully persuade myself that I have other priorities. Eternally burdened by work; I think: “I’ve got to get caught up; just a few late nights and I’ll be there.” I can always count on my family; I think: “We already have so little time , should I be carving out of that?” And sometimes I’ll even resort to considering relaxation; I think: “Once the battery dies, it dies. Better recharge first.”

Having other priorities is, in 2017, what busyness was in 2016 and what multitasking was in 2015. So over. To straighten out the priorities one, and only one, out come the calendar and to-do list. Boring, uninspired, and basic, yes. And yet, spending a chunk of time each week, then a little maintenance each day helps get the priorities straight from the get go. Then all I have to do is stick to the plan (right?!). No negotiating, no weaseling, no waffling.

No trying, just doing.

Blobservations of your own?

